BJJ Ranking System


In order to maintain the highest levels of quality in Jiu-Jitsu, a systematic rigorous belt testing its apply, as seen in the explanation below, consistent classes by the instructors, seminars, and tournaments is the way to achieve your next belt.


Standards of Belt Testing

Sidney Silva Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu Association recognizes and certifies its members on all levels and ranks, which include White, Blue, Purple, Brown and Black colored belts for adults. For children up to the age of 16, White, gray, Yellow, Orange, and Green colored belts are given. Each belt has 4 degrees, with the exception of the Black Belt, which has 10 degrees. A total of 9 belt tests are offered. The first level is the White Belt, Phase 1. All other belt tests consist of two phases for each level. The Instructor evaluates each student level of effectiveness, Jiu-Jitsu's first priority, as well as their technical skill.

Technical skills involve various levels of demonstration showing movement and detail, with total or partial capacity of execution. Even without the member's ability to demonstrate the desired effectiveness, a display of knowledge and capability of the technique at each level will promote advancement.

The Instructor recognizes and accepts the use of individual qualities, such as power, speed, instinct, strategy, talent, strength, etc. Each student can therefore achieve great results even without complete knowledge of the technique. Without question, the results are the most important elements as long as the fight strategy makes sense, and does not involve the use of thoughtless random movements. When ideal results are achieved, the member will be given recognition, continuing on to the next level.

The Instructor will supply Belt Test requirements in order for the member to prepare for graduation to the next rank. The material is based on the teaching and is, therefore, quite simple to follow. The evaluation, however, is focused on the member's ability to execute moves in a smooth and natural manner.


Belt Testing

  • Belt test requirements for all levels are available upon Instructor’s request
  • Only the Black Belt Instructor, are allowed to perform belt tests.
  • All Belt Tests are scheduled directly through Instructor.
  • Upon passing the Belt Test, members will receive an Official Rank Certificate within 15 days.
  • The head instructor must be present for the administration of a Black Belt Test.


Belt system and its related ages

I . WHITE – Beginner, any age
II. GREY – 04 to 06 years of age
III. YELLOW – 07 to 15 years of age
IV. ORANGE – 10 to 15 years of age
V. GREEN – 13 to 15 years of age
VI. BLUE – 16 years of age or older
VII. PURPLE – 16 years of age or older
VIII. BROWN – 18 years of age or older
IX. BLACK – 19 years of age or older

  • All the following ages must be calculated starting from the year of birth. Therefore the athlete’s age is the one he is going to have at the end of the current year.
  • In order to be graded purple belt at 16 years of age it is required that the athlete has spent at least 2 years as a green belt
  • In order to be graded purple belt at 17 years of age it is required that the athlete has spent at least 1 year as a green belt and 1 year as blue belt
  • In case an athlete is graded from green belt straight to purple belt, then the minimum time required before he can be awarded the brown belt is 2 years
  • In order to be graded black belt at 19 years of age it is required that the athlete has spent at least 1 year as a brown belt

Belt system and its minimum times


It is up to each instructor to decide how long it takes for a student to be graded, as long as the minimum times required for each belt are fulfilled.

Belt system and degrees/stripes

  • White, grey, yellow, orange, green, blue, purple and brown belts have 5 levels each: clear belt plus 4 degrees/stripes. It is up to each instructor to award the stripes in each of these belts.
  • The black belt is divided in seven different levels: clear black belt plus 6 degrees/stripes
  • Only athletes who are 19 years of age or older can be awarded a black belt.
  • The 10th degree red belt is limited to the pioneers of Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu: Carlos, Oswaldo, George, Gastão and Hélio Gracie, also known as the Gracie Brothers.


Instructors allowed to give grades

The grades of an athlete in the following belts: grey, yellow, orange, green, blue, purple and brown must be signed by a black belt.



Search site

© 2010 All rights reserved.